Accessibility | Follow Us
Youtube Icon

Useful Links

These useful links to sight loss and disability related sites act as a helpful resource when you need to access information.

1. Sight loss – useful links

Seeing Beyond the Eyes Resource Pack. Provides details of local and national organisations that support people living with visual impairment https://visualisetrainingandconsultancy.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/Seeing-Beyond-the-Eyes-Resource-Pack7-8-18.pdf

Accessible Content – download the Activity Alliance Inclusive Communications Guide at http://www.activityalliance.org.uk/how-we-help/resources   (scroll 3/4 way down the page to view)

Eye Health Calculator http://www.visionmatters.org.uk/looking-after-your-eyes/eye-health-calculator

Eye tests for people with learning disabilities https://www.seeability.org/find-an-optometrist

Sighted Guiding Techniques https://visualisetrainingandconsultancy.com/resources/guiding-tips/

Vision Simulator http://www.visionmatters.org.uk/home/e-vision-simulator 

Visual Impairment Awareness training for groups (face to face and online) https://visualisetrainingandconsultancy.com/training/visual-impairment-awareness-training/

Workplace Assessments for people living with sight loss to support job retention https://visualisetrainingandconsultancy.com/consultancy/workplace-assessments/

2. Disability – useful links

A to Z of Government Information  https://www.gov.uk/browse/disabilities

Access To Work – get support in work if you have a disability or health condition (includes mental health) https://www.gov.uk/access-to-work

Citizens Advice https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/law-and-courts/discrimination/protected-characteristics/what-counts-as-disability/

Disability Confident scheme – supports employers to make the most of the talents people with disabilities can bring to the workplace. https://disabilityconfident.campaign.gov.uk/

Disability Discrimination https://www.equalityhumanrights.com/en/advice-and-guidance/disability-discrimination

Disability News Service – focuses on issues such as discrimination equality, independent living, benefits, poverty, activism and campaigning and human rights, but also covers employment, transport, education, housing, crime, and arts, culture and sport. https://www.disabilitynewsservice.com/ https://www.disabilitynewsservice.com/

Equality Act 2010: guidance https://www.gov.uk/guidance/equality-act-2010-guidance

Inclusive language: words to use and avoid when writing about disability https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/inclusive-communication/inclusive-language-words-to-use-and-avoid-when-writing-about-disability

Learning Disability – Autism – Down’s Syndrome information and support https://www.mencap.org.uk/

Mental Health information and support https://www.mind.org.uk/

Statistics – Disability https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/healthandsocialcare/disability

Sunflower Lanyards  – to show when someone has a hidden disability https://hiddendisabilitiesstore.com/

Support for people with disabilities: Scope – aiming for a society where all disabled people enjoy equality and fairness https://www.scope.org.uk/

Please feel free to contact us if you require any further information or advice.